Our View: Nominate Citizens, Organization of the Year for 2019

Our View: Nominate Citizens, Organization of the Year for 2019

  • 0
I Love a Parade

JULY 2019 FILE PHOTO: From left, Female Citizen of the Year Lina Wallen, Male Citizen of the Year Ken Lamm, Daily Sun Editor Chris Etling, and Melissa Eckstrom and Cassandra Roberts of Organization of the Year Willow Bend stand in front of the group's entry in the Greater Flagstaff Chamber of Commerce Fourth of July Parade on Thursday. For more photos from events throughout the holiday weekend, visit azdailysun.com.

This week is all about Thanksgiving, so here's one way to give thanks: honoring a colleague, a neighbor, an acquaintance or someone you've admired from afar with a nomination as Flagstaff Citizen of the Year.

The Daily Sun has been sponsoring the award for more than four decades, and it now includes three categories: Man, Woman and Organization of the Year. The award recognizes someone who has made Flagstaff a better place in the past year as a volunteer, not in their main line of work. It can be a single project or a continuing cause. Civic groups can nominate this year’s outstanding member, but it can also be a family member, neighbor or friend. Younger or older or in between – there are no limits on these awards.

There's also no application form. Just send Editor Chris Etling an email at cetling@azdailysun.com with a Microsoft Word attachment or a letter to him at Arizona Daily Sun, 1751 S. Thompson St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001. No faxes, please. For more information, his number is (928) 556-2274. We've been getting a good number of submissions, but just to make sure everyone has a chance, I'm extending the deadline to Friday, Nov. 29, at 5 p.m. Please keep submissions under 500 words.

Nominators should simply say why they think a certain individual or group has made Flagstaff and its region a better place to live because of their volunteer efforts. The full list of previous winners is printed below to avoid repeat honorees. (Individual nominees only -- no couples, please.)

Winners will be announced in the newspaper at the turn of the new year. Judging will be done by a panel of previous winners and not by the Daily Sun.


Lina Wallen and Ken Lamm, 2018; Lora Trujillo and Barry Brennan, 2017; Brenda Silveus and Neil Weintraub, 2016; Sally Veazey and Jim David, 2015; Karen Kinne-Herman, Becky Lewis and Billy Weldon, 2014; Sarah Cromer, Gene Munger and Nat White, 2013; Mary Hostetler and Dr. Henry Poore, 2012; Barbara Packard, Hal Jensen and Joe Ray, 2011; Paula Stefani and Doug Rade, 2010; Bunny Gaylord and Jack Welch, 2009; Pam Turner and Bill Packard, 2008; Molly Munger and Dr. Richard Haag, 2007; Sister Elizabeth Carey and Dr. John Caskey, 2006; Susie Garretson and LaVelle McCoy, 2005; Stephanie Rust and Mike Cromer, 2004; Marj McClanahan, Jim Driscoll and Chris Bavasi, 2003; Jan Newton and Danny Neal, 2002; Patricia Hecht, Patrick Nackard and David McKay, 2001; Julianne Hartzell and Jim Dykes, 2000; Catharine B. Adel and Bill Williams, 1999; Florence Karlstrom and Dr. Walt Taylor, 1998; Hazel Robinson and Joe Donaldson, 1997; Barbara Cline and Paul Sweitzer, 1996; Lee Harsh and Douglas Jackson, 1995; Kay McKay and George McCullough, 1994; David Vaselaar and Peg Hebets, 1993; Jack Duffy and Doris Harper White, 1992. Also, Judy Feldstein and Pastor Harry Benson, 1991; Harold Weller and Nina Poore, 1990; Katherin Chase and John Montfort, 1989; Eugene M. Hughes and Barbara Conley, 1988; Dr. William Gaylord and Nancy Warden, 1987; Pat B. Curry and Nancye Setser, 1986; Marshall Knoles and Lorraine Curry, 1985; Anne Tinsley and Manuel D. DeMiguel, 1984; Frances B. McAllister and Dr. J. Otto Berg, 1983; Helen Earnshaw and David D. Chase, 1982; Rayma Babbitt Sharber and John J. Gisi, 1981; Phyllis Manning and Dr. Frank Besnette, 1980. Others include Billie Williams Yost and the Rev. William Denlinger, 1979; Robert Blaser, 1978; Henry Giclas and Robert Nauman, 1977; Platt Cline, 1976; Agnes Allen and John W. Stilley, 1975; H. Stuart Houston and Virginia Downum, 1974; Ralph Bilby, 1973; Dr. Garland Wood, 1972; Bernice Giclas and Sturgeon Cromer, 1971; Harry Brown, 1970. Other previous winners are Dr. Minnie Roseberry, 1969; State Sen. T.M. Knoles Jr. and Douglas Wall, 1968; Mayor Rollin Wheeler, 1967; J. Lawrence Walkup, 1966; Viola Babbitt, 1965; Ethel Sechrist and John G. Babbitt, 1964; No recipient, 1963; H.V. Emblen and Ione McCauley, 1962; and Walter Bennett, 1961.


Willow Bend Environmental Education Center, 2018; Friends of Northern Arizona Forests, 2017; DREAMS, 2016; Forest Highlands Foundation, 2015; Flagstaff Leadership Program, 2014; Poore Free Medical Clinic, 2013; Flagstaff Festival of Science, 2012; Friends of Camp Colton, 2011; New Hope Cottage, 2010; St. Mary’s Food Bank Alliance, 2009; Raymond Educational Foundation, 2008; Flagstaff Community Foundation, 2007; Court-Appointed Special Advocates, 2006; Sunnyside Neighborhood Association, 2005; The PEACE Project, 2004; Coconino Coalition for Children and Youth, 2003; Northern Arizona Center Against Sexual Assault, 2002; Theatrikos, 2001; Toys for Tots, 2000; Museum of Northern Arizona, 1999; Society of St. Vincent de Paul, 1998; Victim/Witness Services of Coconino County, 1997; The American Red Cross, 1996; Literacy Volunteers of Coconino County, 1995; Northland Family Help Center, 1994; Flagstaff Family Food Center, 1993; Northland Hospice, 1992; The American Legion and Legion Auxiliary, 1991; The Flagstaff Sunrise Lions, 1990; The Flagstaff Elks Lodge, 1989; Soroptimists Club of Flagstaff, 1988; Also, Flagstaff’s Sheriff’s Posse, 1987; No winner in 1986; Flagstaff Exchange Club, 1985; Assistance League of Flagstaff, 1984; Big Brothers of Flagstaff and Big Sisters of Northern Arizona, 1983; Pilot Club of Flagstaff, Inc., 1982; Flagstaff Corps, Salvation Army, 1981; Board of Directors, Flagstaff Symphony, 1980; Flagstaff Civitans, 1979; United Way of Flagstaff, 1978; Sunshine Rescue Mission, 1977; Flagstaff Hospital Auxiliary, 1976; and Coconino County Search and Rescue, 1975.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News