The US Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced its 2019 All-Academic Awards for student-athletes with outstanding performances on both the track and in the classroom over the past week. Twelve Lumberjacks earned the honors for the 2018-19 track and field seasons.

Geordie Beamish, Cade Burks, Tyler Day, Brodey Hasty, Parker Joens, Jacob Kaufman, Theo Quax and Ryan Raff made up the eight male Lumberjacks who qualified for academic awards. Maggie Carruth, Helena McLeod, Jasmine Malone and Pipi Eitel were the four women Lumberjacks who earning the accolades.

To qualify for honors, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher and have met at least one of the following athletic standards:

Register for more free articles
Stay logged in to skip the surveys

-- For the indoor season, a student-athlete must have finished the regular season ranked in the national top 96 in an individual event or ranked in the national top 48 (collective listing) in a relay event on the official NCAA POP list provided by TFRRS.org.

-- For the outdoor season, a student-athlete must have participated in any round of the NCAA Division I Championships (including preliminary rounds).

Last season eight Lumberjacks in total earned USTFCCCA All-Academic recognition, only two of which being men.

Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments