The Flagstaff Sports Foundation will host its annual Flagstaff Sports Hall of Fame banquet beginning at 5:30 p.m. on Wednesday at Thornager's with five inductions set to be included in this year's class.

George "Bugs" Auza, Kent Powell, Alan Flitcraft, Roger Teague and the 1968 Coconino High School football team will be celebrated at the dinner and inducted into the Hall. The open bar starts at 5:30, with dinner beginning at 6 p.m.


A three-time letter winner in football and four-time letter winner in wrestling at Flagstaff High School, members of Auza's family have been inducted into the Flagstaff Sports Hall of Fame, including his brother Martin in the Class of 2017.

A guard and defensive lineman for the Flagstaff Eagles during high school, Auza's Flagstaff squad competed in the AA conference, which was the largest conference in the state. Auza played an integral role as a pulling guard in John Ply's Eagles teams. One of Flagstaff High School's all-time running backs, James Dugan once said he would not have been the same player without the blocking of Auza. He was also a decorated wrestler, winning the 145-pound state title in 1963 and the 138-pound title in 1964.

After graduating, Auza volunteered in the U.S. Marines and served in Vietnam after graduating from the Marines. 


Having won 325 games over his 15 years at the helm of the Northern Arizona baseball team, Flitcraft's final year was the same year the university decided to cut the program. He was inducted into the NAU Athletic Hall of Fame in 1985 and is the first coach from the school to reach 300 career wins in any sport.

Before his time in Flagstaff, which started in 1966 when he was hired as Northern Arizona's baseball coach, Flitcraft attended Manatee High School in Bradenton, Florida, and was a standout player, receiving all-conference honors as a pitcher.

He played one year at Manatee Junior College before signing a pro deal with the Los Angeles Angels. He played in the team's farm system for four years but never received a big league call-up, then spent two years with Florida State as an assistant baseball coach.

After his time as the Northern Arizona baseball coach, Flitcraft stayed in Flagstaff and worked for the university's physical education department, teaching both full and part time until he retired in 2015 after spending 41 years at the school.


Powell attended Sunnyside High School in Tuscon and was a seven-time letter winner with four in track, two in football and one in basketball. 

He moved to Flagstaff in 1969 after finishing his degree at Arizona to attend Northern Arizona in hopes of getting his master's degree in education. After finishing his master's in 1971, Powell was hired to teach at Flagstaff Junior High School and officiated basketball and football. During his second year of teaching, he was hired as the school's seventh-, eighth- and ninth-grade wrestling coach, which he did for 13 years.

Powell also spent time as the athletics director at Flagstaff Junior High for 12 years. He retired in 2005 following 35 years in the Flagstaff Public School system. Powell is still active as a football referee.


A retired U.S. Air Force Major General, Teague attended Flagstaff High School and from 1978 to 1981 and played football. 

During his senior year, the Eagles went 11-1, winning the conference title. Teague earned second team all-conference honors as a tight end, first team all-conference as a linebacker and was named to The Arizona Republic all-Arizona team as a linebacker.

After graduating from Flagstaff, Teague received an appointment to the Air Force Academy from Barry Goldwater and was a three-year letter winner for the football team, playing in three straight bowl games. Teague spent 31 years in the Air Force.


Led by head coach Bill Epperson, the 1968 Coconino Panthers football team won the Class AA title in the school's first year of varsity and just its second year of existence.

Coconino went 6-4 including a 6-0 win in the championship over Flowing Wells. Five members of the team were selected as all-conference and all-state players: Lloyd Sedillo, Dan Benson, David McNabb, Tom Lantz and Keith Dawson.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments