While this year’s edition of the race included a record number of participants, a familiar group of names finished in the top 10 of the 11th annual Randy Wilson Memorial Flagstaff Four on the Fourth.

None more familiar than winner John Bogen, who shaved a second off of his 2018 time to become the first three-time winner of the annual race. Finishing in 19:18.7 with his seven-minute head start, Bogen started three minutes back of second-place finisher Janice Lyle.

Lyle finished in 19:54.3 after a 10-minute head start on the field, with Bogen tracking down the groups starting 15, 12, 10 and eight minutes early. The race’s other two-time winner, Katie Landry, took third place in 21:25.7 to beat out her fourth-place time from last year while starting with the same six-minute advantage.

Keeping with the tradition Randy Wilson started, his daughter Caroline Herrington and Neil Weintraub arranged the head starts by age and gender. The top 10 finishers included eight different head starts, spanning one minute up to 10, with six men and four women making up the leaders.

Just as he did a year ago, sixth-place finisher Dirk de Heer recorded the fastest time of the day when accounting for his one-minute advantage on the two-mile stretch of Karen Cooper Trial toward Cheshire Park. Finishing in 22:40.1, de Heer’s total time of 23:40.1 edged out fourth-place Eric Scott for the best total of the day.

Eric Scott’s 21:59.5 with a three-minute jump landed him in the top five after finishing sixth in 22:26.6 last year. Other top times included 10th-place Adin Scott’s 23:27.1 and 11th-place Dana Leib-Perry 23:30.7, with each starting two minutes early as part of the male 15 to 17-year-old group.

Other top 10 finishers included fifth-place Aly Jay (22:38.5, plus eight minutes), seventh-place Stephanie Hurst (23:00.0, plus eight minutes), eighth-place Mark Thurston (23:23.1, plus seven minutes) and ninth-place Carl Perry (23:24.9, plus four minutes). Hurst’s finish matched last year’s seventh-place finish while dropping a minute off of her time.

As they have in years past, the top 10 finishers received patriotic leis and certificates while the free race collected nonperishable food for a local food bank. Herrington and Weintraub worked through registering the record number of participants to start the day, which included a custom designed bib by Herrington to honor her father. The record number of finishers nearly doubling 2018's total.

For a full list finishing times, visit the Race Splitter website at http://v1.racesplitter.com/races/4011B89AF

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Associate Editor

Cody Bashore is the Associate Editor of the Arizona Daily Sun. In addition, he occasionally covers high school sports, city government, courts and businesses while also filling in as a photographer.

Load comments